Day 14: How Did I Get To Be So Lucky?

Goal #1. Fitness/Nutrition.

  • Fitness program continued with a 4.5K walk, plus 5K in cycling and a core workout. In addition, I seem to have adjusted to this new wienerbrød-free lifestyle made possible through my new pact with my husband D to ban sugar forever. I have made due with banana, chocolate and stevia smoothies instead. D however, seems miserable was literally curled up on the couch last night pining for soda. I did not know how to help him. Maybe I will make him a smoothie today.

Goal #2. New Skills/Information/Creating Things.

  • I get to volunteer again today as part of the kitchen team at Spisehuset Rub & Stub. It is an amazing opportunity to learn new cooking techniques, benefit a good cause and meet great people.

Goal # 3. Clean House/Eliminate Clutter

  • I scaled down the amount of tasks for the kiddos, and everything is being completed more consistently now. What’s more, the house looks nice enough on a weekday that I would be able to invite someone in for tea.

Goal #4. Quality Time With Family/Friends.

  • See Goal #7.

Goal #5. Help.

  • This morning my husband was running late so I volunteered to take G to school, adding an extra 6K to all my commuting.

Goal #6. Financial Independence

  • On Saturday, I was so out of my mind with the prospect of cheap bottles of kombucha that I left my Dankort at the store and opted to just cancel it and be sent a replacement card rather than return to the site of so much temptation. For those unfamiliar, Dankort is Denmark’s national debit card, and is only available to residents who have lived in the country for a minimum of six months. During our first few months here, living without one meant frequent trips to the ATM, as local merchants apparently have to pay higher fees for regular debit-card transactions and consequently do not accept them very often. Anyway, this week I have been waiting for my new one to arrive in the mail, so I have been limited to spending about 500 kroner (about $80) on groceries. Earlier in the week, I forgot that I did not have the card and wound up not having enough cash on hand to buy plantains, yuca and cilantro at the local produce market, to my extreme embarrassment. Luckily, the kindly proprietor insisted I just pay him next time I come in, and I did not have to go home empty-handed. Still, I feel like all this meshuganah was my karma for the shopping spree on Saturday.

 Goal #7. Gratitude.

  • My husband is having to travel again, but we still looking forward to the weekend. This evening, a friend of mine from Danish class is meeting me after work so we can have dinner together at the lovely restaurant where I volunteer. Tomorrow night, I will be baking up some pies and making a homemade soup to host another friend and her two sweet daughters, who are coming over with some board games and a whole roast chicken to share. Saturday, the girls and I were invited to go with my dear friend and her two children to Louisiana, though I had to postpone that due to scheduling difficulties associated with K’s karate training. And on Sunday we are reuniting with some former neighbors who moved to a different part of the city, and we get to see their new place for the first time before going to the Zoological Museum together. So many good times, so many lovely people. How did I get to be so lucky?

image

.

This entry was posted in Denmark and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

