Day 9: Making Things Work

Goal #1. Fitness/Nutrition.

  • Walked 6.2K, biked 13K, plus many, many stairs. Food intake still not great, yet still some progress: I made a lovely lamb curry for myself and sat down to eat it.

Goal #2. New Skills/Information/Creating Things.

  • Took apart my dishwasher and tried to fix it. I was unsuccessful, but I felt a little bit like a badass breaking out my husband’s tool box, removing screws and peeking inside at its inner workings. Had this effort resulted in clean dishes, this story would have been better, but still, I’m proud.

Goal # 3. Clean House/Eliminate Clutter.

  • Without the services of our dishwasher, I spent several millennia yesterday washing dishes by hand. Realised that I could stop, go take a walk, and leave a sweet note to older daughter to finish up the rest. Upon my return, saw said daughter diligently drying the last few dishes and putting them away. Så dygtig!

Goal #4. Quality Time With Family/Friends.

  • I don’t think I remembered about this goal yesterday, and consequently was probably pretty rushed and unaware of my time with my family. I will try to be more present and mindful with them today.

Goal #5. Help.

  • Took a moment to take a beautiful photo for a lady at Carlsberg and made sure to fit the whole elephant in the shot. Offered to pick up some more decorations for my daughter’s class’s Halloween party.

Goal #6. Financial Independence

  • My spending continues to be very deliberate and careful. I did not buy anything yesterday except for a few organic jerusalem artichokes to include in my daughter’s stirfry.

 Goal #7. Gratitude

  • Took a walk to do some leaf-peeping at this lovely cemetery near my home. There I noticed a historic memorial for 19 British soldiers from World War 1 who had been prisoners of war in Germany. According to this history, the young men were just freed and being taken back home when most of them succumbed to the Spanish flu while stopping in Copenhagen. One of them was only 28 years old at the time of his death. I can only imagine the suffering they endured and the sadness their families must have felt knowing they were so close to coming home before they died. It made me feel so lucky to have lived on this earth for 42 years in such relative safety and comfort.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

