Day 8: Walking, Climbing, Planning

Goal #1. Fitness/Nutrition.

  • Walked 8.8K, biked 8K and took the stairs, of course, but then ate too much sugar and ruined the win.

Goal #2. New Skills/Information/Creating Things.

  • Started working on the blog again. Listened to another podcast with Seth Godin, who argued that everyone should have a blog that they update daily, and that it’s better to stand out than to fit in. He also talked about the importance of  taking risks, giving generously in your community and cultivating relationships based on trust.

Goal # 3. Clean House/Eliminate Clutter.

  • I did some chores, and so did the girls, but I did not give them to-do lists and consequently not very much was completed. I think the act of crossing something off a list is very satisfying, so I will make sure to bring that back today.

Goal #4. Quality Time With Family/Friends.

  • Husband and I had some important talks about our future and what we want. We also took an early-morning bike ride together in the sun.

Goal #5. Help.

  • Had that talk with K’s teacher yesterday about the bullying, and I am fairly certain the problem is already resolved.

Goal #6. Financial Independence

  • Yesterday the sink in our bathroom stopped draining at the same time as the dishwasher inexplicably stopped working. These issues made me feel a bit overwhelmed and caused me to go to the convenience store for expensive quick-fixes rather than the grocery store. To make things worse, some of the things I bought did not work. I see that when things get hectic, I tend to lose my focus.

 Goal #7. Gratitude

  • I am grateful for my husband and his open mind. We are going to be embarking on another adventure in the United States in a few months where we hope to start a school for our children with some other parents and their children. We realized the student-centered, project-based, nature-focused educational environment we desire for our girls would cost the equivalent of a yearly salary, so we have begun planning a Co-op with a few other parents with similar goals/philosophies and who also have strong teaching backgrounds. We have homeschooled in the past, and it benefitted our older daughter immensely, but we found it overwhelming to do alone. This time, I have a feeling it will be different because of the community we are building in advance and all of the resources we share as a group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

