Day 7: Back in Business after Lost Days

Things fell apart for a couple of days after I had some technical difficulties with the blog. My husband said he noticed that my motivation seems directly tied to updating it, so I am glad to be taking the long view once again. Yesterday, I started out pretty directionless, but then I started on some projects that gave me motivation. By the end of the day, dinner was on the table, dishes were washed, homework was done and there were good feelings all around. Today I am back to work on this thing, so hopefully I can keep the momentum going.

Goal #1. Fitness/Nutrition.

  • Lots of meals on the fly, sugar and no exercise other than a six kilometer bike ride and all the stairs that I must climb in my regular life. Today I will do better.

Goal #2. New Skills/Information/Creating Things.

  • Have started watching Youtube videos to try and improve my knife skills in the kitchen.

Goal # 3. Clean House/Eliminate Clutter.

  • Listened to podcasts while I hung laundry and cleaned the grout between the tiles in the bathroom and then the oven rack. Helped kids stay on track with their to-do lists.

Goal #4. Quality Time With Family/Friends.

  • My daughter came home from school sad because of some bullying that has unfortunately started at her school. I turned off my podcast, stopped what I was doing and gave her the full attention she needed so we could talk about what next steps were needed. There were also lots of joking, hugs and discussions until she seemed OK with the situation. I really feel like I was there for her when she needed me.

Goal #5. Help.

  • See #4

Goal #6. Financial Independence

  • No unconscious spending.

 Goal #7. Gratitude

  • I had an uplifting experience talking with my daughter’s teacher this morning about the bullying. She told me how much she and her colleague enjoy having K, whom they describe as this “nature, barefoot, free-spirit girl” in their class. She said she was so impressed with K’s open-mindedness. On field trips, she has seen her start talking with strangers on the bus, and it’s like they are old friends by the time they get off.  She also was impressed with K’s level in not only Danish, but also Spanish, which she is teaching herself so she can communicate with a boy in the class. In fact, the Spanish has become so good that the teachers sometimes ask K to translate for the boy. She added,”She is really going to become someone special.”  I felt so proud to hear this, and yet so humbled too because I attribute a lot of her self confidence to living here in Denmark. Here, children get a lot of freedom, respect and responsibility, and teachers emphasize social development over test scores. Consequently, being here during this critical period between ages 11 through 13 has built her up at a time when many American girls her age lose their sassy, independent streaks. So thank you to her teachers, her karate school and to this society for helping to preserve my child’s unique spirit and self-esteem.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

